1800 046 240
to contact our Paddington Store
Looking for another store?

Strange Harvests

Posnett, Edward

9781784703028

BOOK DETAILS

Price: $24.99
Format: Paperback / softback
ISBN13: 9781784703028
Published: August 2020

See more information below

This is a new book. Condition: Brand New.

A global exploration of how we harvest and exploit the world's natural bounty - from edible birds' nests to sea silk - Strange Harvests is perfect for readers of Robert Macfarlane and Andrea Wulf

'Exceptional...a subtle, fascinating braiding of travel, cultural and natural history... It is a pleasure and an education to journey with Posnett in these pages' ROBERT MACFARLANE

In a centuries-old tradition, farmers in north-western Iceland scour remote coastal plains for the down of nesting eider ducks. High inside a cast cave in Borneo, men perched on rickety ladders collect swiftlets' nests, a delicacy believed to be a cure for almost anything.

These luxury products are two of the seven natural wonders whose stories Harvest tells- eiderdown, vicuna wool, sea silk, vegetable ivory, civet coffee, guano and edible birds' nests. It follows their journey from the wildest parts of the planet, traversing Iceland, Indonesia, and Peru, to its urban centres, drawing on the voices of the gatherers, shearers and entrepreneurs who harvest, process and trade them.

Blending interviews, history and travel writing, Harvest sets these human stories against our changing economic and ecological landscape, and makes us see the world with wonder, curiosity and new concern.

(Previously published as Harvest)

Book details and technical specifications

Format: Paperback / softback
ISBN13: 9781784703028
Published: August 2020

Number of pages: 336
Width: 129 mm
Height: 198 mm
Depth: 129 mm

Publisher: Vintage Publishing

blog comments powered by Disqus

This item is only on the shelf at the following Berkelouw bookshops. Please contact them directly to hold your copy.

Availability and price subject to change at any time.