1800 046 240
to contact our Paddington Store
Looking for another store?

9781911231127

BOOK DETAILS

Price: $32.99
Format: Paperback / softback
ISBN13: 9781911231127
Published: August 2019

See more information below

This is a new book. Condition: Brand New.

A ground-breaking work of narrative non-fiction that offers a dramatic new perspective on human history.

What was George Washington's secret weapon during the American Revolution, and how did it lead to Britain colonising Australia? What protected Popes for centuries? And what does Starbucks have to thank for its global domination? The answer to all these questions, and many more, is the mosquito.

The mosquito has razed economies, determined the fates of empires and decided the outcome of pivotal wars. She-only females bite-has dispatched an estimated 52 billion people from a total of 108 billion ever to have lived. As the greatest purveyor of extermination we have known, she has played a greater role in shaping our history than any other living creature.

The Mosquito is the extraordinary story of how a tiny bloodsucking fly indelibly changed our world. Driven by surprising insights and fast-paced storytelling, it will appeal to readers of Peter Wohlleben and Elizabeth Kolbert-and to anyone who has swatted at one of the hundred trillion mosquitoes buzzing about the Earth.

Book details and technical specifications

Format: Paperback / softback
ISBN13: 9781911231127
Published: August 2019

Number of pages: 300
Width: 154 mm
Height: 236 mm
Depth: not specified

Publisher: Text Publishing

blog comments powered by Disqus

This item is only on the shelf at the following Berkelouw bookshops. Please contact them directly to hold your copy.

Availability and price subject to change at any time.